Temples in Goa - Goa Tourism

The temples of Goa are in essence like most Hindu temples in India, based around a deity which is worshipped. The architecture of Goan temples is a little different mostly because of historical reasons.

The fundamental design of any Hindu temple is organized around the central shrine or the "Garbagriha" or the "sanctum sanctorum" that houses the main deity. A tower or "Shikara" arises from the main shrine and is traditionally pyramidal shaped. There are usually two or more smaller shrines housing other deities known as "Parivar Devatas" around the entrance to the Garbagriha.

Shri Bhagavati
Rudreshwar Temple at Harvalem
Shri Mahadeo Bhumika at Sal, Bicholim
Morjaee Temple at Morjim
Shri Bhagavati Temple at Parshem
Brahma Temple
Shri Chandranath
Shri Damodar Temple
Shri Datta Mandir
Shri Devkikrishna-Ravalnath
Shri Gomanteshwar Devasthan Brahmapur
Shri Gopal Ganapati Temple
Shri Kalikadevi Temple
Shri Kamakshi Saunsthan Shiroda
Temple of Shri Mahadev at Tambdi Suria
Shri Mahalaxmi Temple
Shri Mahalsa Temple
Shri Mallikarjun Temple
Shri Manguesh Temple
Shri Naguesh Temple
Shri Navdurga Saunsthan Temple
Shri Navdurga at Madkai Temple
Shri Ramnath Temple
Shri Saptakoteshwar Temple
Sapteshwar-Bhagvati temple at Mandrem
Shri Shantadurga(Kavlem) Temple
Shri Shantadurga(Pemem) Temple
Shri Shantadurga (Kunkolienkarin) Temple
Shri Vitthal Mandir
Shri Devi Sharvani Temple
Shri Saunsthan Gokarn Partagali Jeevolam Math
Shri Saunsthan Gondpaddchaiya Kavie Math

No comments:

Post a Comment